Fighting > General Fighting Discussion

Hoplite combat

(1/12) > >>

Nothos:
I'm surprised there isn't any how to fight like a viking, knight, samurai etc threads yet, so here is the hoplite thread

I am a fan of ancient Greek combat, and a big fan of Alexander the great. I know that the Macedonian foot champions didn't use the tradition hoplite phalanx, but it is hard to build and transport 16 foot spears so I use more traditional hoplite equipment. I guess I want to know how to fight like a hoplite. I know they fought in a phalanx, most probably trained pankration, there is a lot of materiel on that, but there are still a lot of questions to be answers.

Getting good at wrestling is easy, there is crazy amounts of info on it. if you watch the javelin and shield tournaments you can see why grappling was very important to the Greeks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFFkznuFB70&feature=related (thanks Konradr)

I admit right now I am no expert with a spear and shield, but this is what I gathered so far. Any advise from other spear and shield users (don't just make **** up) would be greatly appreciated. Right now I believe being good at spear and shield has a lot to do with conditioning.

1. what length do you use?
I use a spear around 7 foot. I found the way I hold a spear I lose about a 1.5-2 feet in length. This gives me 5-5.5 foot of what I am going to call net range.

2. How do you hold your spear?

that is how I hold mine in more dense formations. I like using my shield to help aim my spear.

how I hold my spear in less dense skirmishes.

3. Learning curve, how do you improve your power and accuracy?
I know for me, I didn't just pick up a 7' spear and it feel natural like a sword and shield. First time I fought single green I couldn't hit hard enough for anything to be legit, and my accuracy sucked. My muscle endurance still fails me with single handed spear, but it is much better when I first started. I think a lot of using a spear and shield is conditioning.