The "for clarity" doesn't mean that someone can just ignore it. It adds to the statement that archers may call their hits to specify WHEN they may call their hits. Namely, if clarity is needed. The call is still valid, binding, and is expected to be taken.
That's how it's been for the decade I've played. That's how I teach people to play it. That's how I was taught to play it.
That is part of the big problem. You can't interpret a rule based on how it has been done for a decade. You can ONLY look at a rule as it is written. A brand new realm starting in Fairbanks, Alaska does not have the benefit of being on the East Coast, nor do they have anyone who has been "Playing for the past decade".
What they DO have, is an MoA rule that simply states that Archer may call their shot for Clarity. That can obviously
, be taken in two very different ways. One gives the archer the ability to have Herald/God powers over what the fighter felt. The other interpretation simply tells the archer they may every now and then have to point out to a confused fighter what they think hit.
Lykos, yours is the minority opinion of interpretation of that rule. Most of the game sees "call their shots" as the operative phrase, with "clarity" as a descriptor.
Prove That. The farther away from the East Coast, the more people are agreeing with the second, more direct, interpretation. Unless, of course, that person in the mid west or west coast originally came from Aratari. Then they agree whole heartedly with the East Coast version.
Saying that something IS, doesn't make it so.
I like how everyone completely ignored Twinkles comments, even though she teaches Rag archery classes.
Lykos, been inside too much lately? Try reading the rest of the thread. Most of the posts by veteran archers are agreeing with Twinkle. None of us want to be that guy.
I did read the entire thread, and most of the East Coast Vets completely disagree with Twinkles version. Look at every post by Janwin, Alric, Stylgar, and Whisper. Each of them agree that Archers should not HAVE to call shots, but they CAN and make it stick according to their interpretation of the rule, or on the fact that , "we have always done it that way".
I just disagree with this completely. Since I am now on a real puter and can do it, I will gladly quote Twinkle and highlight her statement.
They call them and you take what they call.
Yeah, see, this is never how I was taught, nor how I taught it. This is the "archers are gods/heralds" crap that people always bitch about. Most archers have just adopted the "shoot them again" policy, wherein if their target did not take the shot, regardless of a call made, we fire another shot at them. Taking hits has always been an honor system, and I see no reason to give archers the power to override that system. "May call for clarity" is in there in the event that the person is wearing armor and/or didn't feel the hit. It does not give the archers the final say.
Well, heck, I can't even highlight bit parts because all of it is so dead on. What she is saying, and which many of us NOT from the East Coasters believe, is that Archers are no more able to break the Honor system that is in place in Dagorhir than anyone else. If so many on the East Coast believe this to not be the case, then by all means, take this rule BACK to RWC and get it changed... again! The "For Clarity" was just recently added... so maybe after we see just how badly this rule can be interpreted, it is time to go ahead and change it to what the "Majority" of Dagorhir truly think it should be... Regardless of how one or two realms on the East coast play it. It would be VERY interesting to see how such a rule change would be viewed by the whole of Dagorhir.