I just updated the rules page.
There were two changes. The first was the change made regarding the force necessary for a hit. Here is the old wording:
3.4.1 - Hits from hand-held weapons count when the weapon strikes solidly with noticeable force. NOTE: what constitutes a "solid strike" is necessarily subjective and thus relies on the honor of both the attacker and the person who is struck.
And here is the new rule, per last Ragnarok's war council:
3.4.1 - A hit from a hand-held weapon counts when the weapon’s striking surface hits with sufficient force. Clarification: taps, grazing, and glancing shots do not count as sufficient force.
The other change is to correct an omission. At Rag 23, Graymael proposed a revision of the rulebook to clarify a number of poor wordings. One of the rules he proposed was this:
4.10.2 - If a blow strikes a sheathed weapon (i.e., one that is attached/hanging from one's belt or over one's back) or any other worn object, including baggy clothing such as cloaks, the attack is considered to have hit the fighter. A weapon must be in a fighter's hand to intercept an attack.
However, it was noted in War Council that this rule would make it possible to kill a fighting simply by hitting his garb, which was not right. Leonidas proposed a rewritten version of the rule, which was approved by War Council. Here's a quote from the minutes (link: http://www.dagorhir.com/forums/index.php?topic=11718.0
Leonidas proposes addition of ‘If weapon would have continued through garb to person it constitutes a good hit’
Unanimous approval of proposed addition to garb hit rule.
Graymael calls the question for MOA additions, unanimous approval.
This change was not, however, reflected in the MoA that was published on the website!
Today, I published the correct, revised version of this rule. It was not immediately clear to me, however, how to incorporate Leonidas' amendment as quoted in the minutes into Graymael's wording, so I emailed him and requested the correct wording of the amended rule, which was this:
4.10.2 - Strikes ignore sheathed weapons (i.e., one that is attached/hanging from one's belt or over one's back) or any other worn object, including baggy clothing such as cloaks. If an attack would have made legal contact with a fighter had the object been absent, then it should be counted as a hit. A weapon must be in a fighter's hand to intercept an attack.
I have now posted the revised copy of this rule on the website, as should have been done three years ago.